Here is a list of every 2009 release I’ve sat through last year (by release date):

  • Bride Wars
  • Paul Blart: Mall Cop
  • He’s Just Not That Into You
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic
  • The International *
  • I Love You, Man
  • The Great Buck Howard
  • Monsters vs Aliens
  • 17 Again
  • The Hangover *
  • Food Inc
  • The Proposal
  • (500) Days of Summer *
  • District 9 *
  • Inglourious Basterds *
  • 9 *
  • Paranormal Activity *
  • Where the Wild Things Are *
  • Christmas Carol in 3D *

* – in theater
I’m verrrry picky about movies. That being said, I believe District 9 was the best of the year. I saw the confusing advertisements on bus stops in LA, but just assumed it would be a lame flick with overload of special effects without the content. Obviously, assuming wasn’t the right choice. I saw it with two guys, going in I had little knowledge of the plot (on purpose), and little booze in my blood. Good choice on both accounts. We actually walked in a few minutes late, and as the movie unfolds in a documentary-like filming, I was really caught off guard.

Another good movie was The Hangover, I actually re-watched it with my boy a few days ago and it was just as funny as the first time.

The worst theater film unfortunately stars my all-time-favorite hunk-of-spunk Brad Pitt. It made me realize I should avoid any Tarantino films.

Some of 2009 that I want to catch: Let Them Chirp Awhile, NY I Love You, The Box, Fantastic Mr Fox.

PS! Here’s a similar post from 2008 : https://sharktaste.wordpress.com/2008/01/21/2007-in-cinemas-eyes/

PSS! The best, hands down, film I’ve seen last year was Bonnie & Clyde. It ripped my heart out completely.

