Best movie of the past year is Last Night, hands down. It’s always a heartbreaking drama which tugs at my heart leaving a lasting impression… A must-see for any hopeful romantic. Second best is Beginners. I went shopping a few days after watching it, and ended up purchasing a red chiffon dress, and stripped blazer. Oh, irony.

Mission Impossible 4 & Rise of the Planet of the Apes were the only “blockbusters” I saw, both were surprising highly entertaining. Two documentaries which I recommend are about New York Times – Page One is about the media department, Bill Cunningham NY is about the man behind the lens of every Sunday edition’s Style sections. Both fascinating.

Here’s a quick list of 2011 releases I meant to catch but haven’t:¬†Beautiful Boy, Sleeping Beauty, Cracks, Love, The Double Hour, The Time That Remains, Exporting Raymond, Carnage, Certified Copy, Tabloid, The Perfect Sense (!!), We Need To Talk About Kevin (!!), Weekend.

This is the caught-my-attention-with-quirky-poster list: Margaret, Textuality, Seconds Apart, Love Etc, Chameleon, I Melt With You, Love Crime, For Lovers Only (catch the pattern?), Hello Lonesome.

After the cut are movies I’ve seen, in a loose order of which I liked.

Last Night
MI : Ghost Protocol
Beginners
Life In A Day
Anonymous
Midnight In Paris
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
The Perfect Host
Bill Cunningham New York
Page One
Moneyball
I Don’t Know How She Does It
Another Earth
Contagion
Monogamy
The Muppets
Source Code
Trust
Young Adult
Something Borrowed
The Dilemma
Thor
Bellflower
Unknown
3
The Tree of Life
The Devil’s Double
Incendies
Straw Dogs
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Friends With Benefits
Crazy Stupid Love
Bad Teacher

